Binford-Dammin Society of Infectious Disease Pathologists


History of the Society

The Society was formed in 1988 in association with the US-Canadian Academy of Pathology, and named in honor of Drs. Chapman H.  Binford and Gustasve J. Dammin. Infectious disease pathology has a long legacy, originating conjointly with Medicine itself. Over the last century, “tropical diseases” have more traditionally been associated with Infectious Disease pathology, but the whole array of bacteria, parasites and viruses are now applicable. With the causual association to both infection and cancer, infectious disease pathology has taken a place in the modern synthesis of biology, genetics, and molecular biology.


2016-2017 OFFICERS

(live email links)

  Bobbi Pritt, President

   Jeannette Guarner, Pres. Elect

   Atis Muehlenbachs. Pres. Elect-Elect

   Andre Moreira, Sec-Treasurer

   Corrine Fligner, Education Comm.’16

   TC Wu, Education Comm. ’17

   Audrey Schuetz. Education Comm '18

   Dan Milner, FacebookWebmaster



2017 USCAP Annual Meeting

San Antonio, Texas

BD Companion Meeting 2017

Sunday 3/5, 8:30 AM CC 305

Cardiovascular Infections: Contemporary Approaches to Recognition and Diagnosis

Business meeting and lunch to follow

Infectious Disease Specialty Conf

Wednesday 3/8, 7:30 PM CC608-609

Fungus in Formalin

Prior Companion Meetings &       Specialty Conferences.


Visit our current Presidents Weekly Parasite Blog!

Test your ID knowledge

with Virtual Slides of

Infectious Cases from USCAP



The Jerome H. Smith Award is named in honor of the force behind the formation of the Society. The award is given annually at the US-CAP meeting to the best poster or presentation by a Pathologist-in-training as the primary author. All proffered presentations in the infectious disease section are considered. All posters pertaining to infectious disease in all sections are considered. To be certain of attention please nominate the poster or presentation by contacting the Secretary by email. The award is $200.

The purpose of the Society is to improve and promote the recognition of, understanding of, and education in the pathology and pathogenesis of infectious diseases among pathologists, clinicians and public health professionals.

Members are persons in the practice of pathology in its broad sense who maintain an interest in infectious diseases. Associate Members are pathologists in training.

Membership is $20 annually, waived for residents and fellows. You can be a Lifetime Member for $500. Either way, we gladly accept donations (tax exempt), for the Jerry Smith Award, and other expenses, like web hosting! 

Please pay your dues for 2016-2017, or make a donation:

by internet

by mail


2016 1st Prize: Jennifer Muir, University of Toronto, abstract 1540, Return of the "Great Mimicker": Treponema palladium in the gastrointestinal tract

2016 2nd Prize: Christopher Suciu, University of Pittsburg, Abstract 1545, Interpretation of HSV positive respiratory specimens using quantitative PCR


Previous Jerome Smith Awardees

Topics on the Pathology of Protozoan and Invasive Arthropod Diseases